top of page
  • AutorenbildAnna Ford

Himarë - English

Who would think that Albania looks so beautiful and stunning.


That's me swimming in the Mediterranean ocean

The small coastal village of Himarë is a 5 1/2 hour bus ride from Tirana. We stayed in a very nice hostel. I immediately felt at home there ;-). Hostels are wonderful places to meet people from all over the world. There were Americans, Israelis, Chinese, Australian, German, Freche, Italian and Spanish .


The best part was, you are only 5 minutes from the beach. However I rather enjoyed a 40-minute walk through the nature of Albania to get to an even more beautiful beach.


The water was crystal clear and with a pair of goggles I could see shoals of fish. Due to the high salinity of the water you have to do practically nothing to stay up. The only thing I had to watch out for was the sun. Especially between 11-4 clock the sunlight is very intense, so I smeared myself 3 times with sunscreen. But who ever had a sunburn before knows that caution is better than forbearance.

The first evening we ate in a local restaurant. And .....


... honestly, who would think that this is a restaurant?

We were very skeptical at the beginning .... But a nice lady helped us out and then set a table for us. The food was ... (they like their salt!), but the view was phenomenal. It felt like in a picture book.


On the Sabbath we drove to a beautiful beach called Gjilpe. First, we walked for 1 1/2 hours along a canyon and then we walked down to the beach. I think that was one of the best sabbaths for me. The nature is breathtakingly beautiful.




 


 

My gang ;-)

 

Me having fun on a boat ride

16 Ansichten0 Kommentare

Aktuelle Beiträge

Alle ansehen

She made it!

ARRIVED

bottom of page